Thanksgiving – Our Own Personal Prison of Brown

Okay, this one is mostly for the ladies, because let’s face it guys, you can just get away with wearing a sweater, or dress-shirt for the fancy family Thanksgiving dinner.

Right?

But women, I ask this, why are we so compelled to wear dreary brown on this warm, fuzzy, yummy, holiday?


Women the nation over are beginning to look into their closets to find their most qualified autumnal attire as we speak.

Some women have already got it all figured out.

 

In fact some of these same women, already know what their pets will wear on Thanksgiving.


Oh, and this guy. He knows what he’s wearing.


Some women will try to step up their fashion game by having the “spirit” of Thanksgiving, only with the elegance of the runway.

They will fail too. Still brown.


 

I mean let’s face it, there is only one woman who can get away with a holiday sweater…

Marilyn Monroe

I think the only exception to this autumnal blasphemy is children, because they are cute and all of that stuff.


Unless of course it borders on child abuse.

 

So, as I awoke this morning I just lay there, staring at my clothes rack, wondering to myself what brown garment will I be wearing for Thanksgiving Dinner, and it dawned on me – why do we put ourselves in our own personal prison of brown? It almost feels mandatory, like an imposed uniform.

Why not this year, we choose to stand out?!??!


Most autumnal colors are tertiary colors on the color wheel. So, if you really want to stand out this Thanksgiving in the sea of Chocolate, Rust, and Mustard, you need to wear some shade of Blue, Peacock, or Violet.

I say boycott brown and pull some other vivacious color out of your closet this year!

Save your brown clothing buying money for more important things, like gourd candles.

 

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a comment